Our History

The School of Nursing, Osogbo, was founded by the old Oyo State Ministry of Health on  12th May, 1977 to run courses in General Nursing Education leading to the award of the Registered Nurse Certificate of the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria for both Basic and post Basic students.

The school was first inspected by the Council in June, 1977, and was granted provisional approval, while the final approval came on October 28th, 1992.

Facilities for the take-off of the school were inspected by the then Oyo State Commissioner for Health, Dr. Adetoye Faniran, and they included two classrooms, two dormitories, Kitchen, dining room and two staff rooms for office accommodation. The facilities belonged to the ANGLICAN MISSION AT ISALE-ARO – 1st temporary site.

The first set of student Nurses were examined by TEDRO, and were enrolled on 19th May, 1977; 40 candidates in all.

The Newton Memorial School on Ilobu Road owned by the BAPTIST MISSION became the second temporary site of the school which was named “The North Campus” of school. It accommodated the female student hostels, Administrative Blocks and staff rooms, while the Isale Aro campus was used for male student hostels.

However, in 1984, the whole organ of the school finally moved to the Newton’s Memorial School.

Following a donation of about 60 hectares of land at Asubairo by the Osogbo community, the school recently in 2003 moved to its permanent site. This site accommodates both the schools of Nursing and Midwifery, and has seven blocks of buildings.

The school currently uses Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH) Teaching Hospital, Osogbo (former State Hospital); Our Lady of Fatima catholic Hospital, Osogbo; Mercy land Hospital, Osogbo; State Hospital, Asubairo, Osogbo; and Neuro-Psychiatric Hospital, Aro, Abeokuta for clinical and psychiatric experience, while Comprehensive Health Centres at Ilobu, Atelewo, Osogbo; and PrimaRY Health Centre, Okinni are for community practice.

Thus far, the list of Principals are:

1.       Mr. P.O. Ajayi (pioneer principal)                              May 1977 – June, 1979

2.       Dr. R. A. Salawu                                                                July 1979 – October 1984

3.       Mr. A. O. Babalola                                                            November 1984 – October 1991

4.       Mr. J. O. Fatoki                                                                  November 1991 – 1995

5.       Mrs. M. I. Oginni                                                              1995 – November 2000

6.       Mr. T. A. Adeleye                                                             2001 – 2006

7.       Mr. O. A. Akinyoola                                                         2006 – Dec. 2007

8.       Mr. K. A. Adesina                                                             Dec. 2007 to 2014

9.       Mrs. Dasola Badru-Oladipo                                             Current

The school has up to date offered admission to 3,375 students.

Some well-meaning citizens in and outside Osogbo have contributed immensely to the development of this school among who is His Royal Highness, the Ataoja of Osogboland, Oba Iyiola Oyewale Matanmi III, some Local Government Councils, and other voluntary contributors for the school in its efforts to attain excellence.